Faculty & Staff

Our staff at TES brings so much experience and energy to our students every day. Learn more about 'who's who' at TES. Families can reach their child(rens) teachers through the email addresses listed below.

Carla Aquadro, Counselor (caquadro@windhamcentral.org)

Hello TES community, I am the school counselor! In 1995, I graduated from Keene State College with a degree in elementary education and started my teaching career at Bellows Falls Middle School in October of that year. In 2001, I earned a Master’s Degree in School Counseling however because of my extreme happiness in the classroom, I chose to continue as a classroom teacher until 2018. I am excited to work with the students and families of Townshend Elementary School. Students make my day everyday!

Bethany Barton, 3rd Grade Teacher (bbarton@windhamcentral.org)

I graduated from the University of Vermont with my teaching degree and was fortunate to land a classroom position right out of college at Castleton Elementary School. After working there for 2 years, I took a teaching position at Townshend Elementary School. I have been teaching for 25 years and am currently the 3rd grade teacher. I love my job and am happy to go to work each morning because I enjoy my students' enthusiasm for learning. It's a pleasure to work with these children because I learn something new every day.

Brynn Cassamassa, Kindergarten Teacher (bcassamassa@windhamcentral.org)

I have taught Kindergarten, among other grades, for 7 years. I currently have Early Childhood and Elementary Certifications. I have wanted to be a teacher since I was in Kindergarten. I love helping students learn something new and watching their eyes light up when they get it! I also love that every kid I have taught, has also taught me and how they help me see things in different ways.

Fiona Creed Chevalier, Library/Media Specialist (fchevalier@windhamcentral.org)

I work as a librarian in multiple elementary schools in WCSU. When I'm not in the library you can find me on walks with my dog, bike rides with my family or alone in my garden. If you see me with earbuds in; I'm listening to an audiobook. My education is: BA in Environmental Studies from Macalester College and a Masters in Library and Information Science from Long Island University.

Reading is a doorway into exploring the world (both real and imagined). I love helping kids discover what worlds they want to explore, helping them develop their interests and learning how to critically look at the world around them both online and IRL.

Deanna Donza, Academic Support Teacher (ddonza@windhamcentral.org)

Kathy Gatto-Gurney, Pre-K Teacher (kgattogurney@windhamcentral.org)

I am an educator, a mother, wife, dancer, and sculptor. My education is diverse with a BA in Speech Communications (College of NJ), MA in Dance and Dance Ed. (NYU), and an Early Childhood Ed. Endorsement (UVM). Watching children grow and guiding them along the way, brings me great joy. I love being with preschoolers because they are so pure in spirit.

Katie Hazelton, Pre-K Paraeducator (khazelton@windhamcentral.org)

I live in Jamaica with my husband and three children. Both my husband and I, as well as our kids have gone to elementary schools in our district and to Leland & Gray. I ran a home childcare for 10 years and then started at TES in 2019 in the PreK-4 room. I love hanging with this amazing age-group every day! When I’m not at school I enjoy camping with my family in our motor home.

Kris Jerz, 5th Grade Teacher (kjerz@windhamcentral.org)

From a young age I always knew that teaching would be my career path. I attended Elms College in Ma. where I received my Bachelors in Science degree with a minor in math and continued my education at Antioch in Keene, NH in order to receive my Masters in Education degree. It has been my pleasure to work at Townshend Elementary School for the past 19 years, the last five with the AMAZING FIFTH grade!

Rebecca Kerr, Music (rkerr@windhamcentral.org)

Bre Madison, Home-School Liaison (bgunnmadison@windhamcentral.org)

Renee Merluzzi, Principal (rmerluzzi@windhamcentral.org)

I am the Principal at Townshend. I started at Townshend as an AST teacher in which I taught small groups of students that need interventions in math and literacy in various grade levels. The 2022-23 school year will be my first year in this leadership role at Townshend. I enjoy teaching all kinds of students and get true joy out of seeing them make growth in their academic and social lives.

Jess Mowrey, Food Services (jmowrey@windhamcentral.org)

Liz O'Neill, Pre-K Teacher (loneill@windhamcentral.org)

I graduated from UVM and have been a teacher of various grades for five years now, in both New Jersey and Vermont. I have a special education degree along with an early childhood education degree. I believe all students should receive an equal opportunity in an inclusive and welcoming environment, which will allow each child to grow and develop into the best person they can be. Townshend is such a welcoming and caring community and I feel very lucky to be a part of the teaching staff. Watching young children learn and grow brings me joy daily.

Edna Ortiz, 1st Grade Teacher (eortiz@windhamcentral.org)

Hello lovely Townshend families! My name is Edna Ortiz, Ms. Edna, to the students, and I am one of the newest members of the TES community. I moved to West Townshend around this time last year and could not be happier. I lived in Brattleboro before this and before that I lived in central Mass. for most of my life. Many people ask me why I moved to Vermont, even not knowing anyone in the state, and I just smile and tell them it was my destiny. I came up for a visit many years ago and told myself that I would one day move up here and never look back...and that is what happened. I was extremely fortunate to have landed a couple of great jobs in the education field up here in VT and am currently enrolled in the Elementary Education Masters program at Western Governors University. I truly love my job as a 1st grade teacher and am crossing my fingers to be here for many years to come!

Megan Paraspolo, SEL teacher (mparaspolo@windhamcentral.org)

Suzanne Paugh, Art Teacher (spaugh@windhamcentral.org)

I have been an art educator for 13 years and still enjoy all the mess and creative energy that comes with the job! I enjoy teaching students about artists from all time periods and have recently been energized about integrating more contemporary artists that may be less well known, but create work that is pertinent to what is happening in the world right now. I aspire to infuse as much CHOICE as I can into my art curriculum so students can truly find their individual artistic voice and become confident and creative in all parts of their lives.

Megan Richardson, 2nd Grade Teacher (mrichardson@windhamcentral.org)

I am Megan Richardson and I live right here in Townshend with my husband and two sons. This is my 22nd year of teaching at Townshend Elementary school where I also attended as an elementary student many years ago. I went on to graduate from Leland and Gray Union High School and continued my education to receive my Bachelors Degree in Education from The University of Vermont. I later studied to earn my Masters Degree in Education at Southern New Hampshire University. I am currently teaching second grade, but have also taught first, third, fourth, and fifth grade over my years at Townshend Elementary School. My love for teaching continues everyday when I see the lightbulbs go off in students' minds when they learn something new and when I get to see their smiling faces enter my classroom each day.

Honour Solari, 4th Grade Teacher (hsolari@windhamcentral.org)

I graduated from the University of Vermont in 2020 with a degree in Elementary Education and a minor in Special Education. Being a teacher has always been a dream of mine. Growing up with younger brothers, I was constantly supporting them with their school work and looking for ways to help them. This is when my passion for teaching really started. Watching students, or siblings, grasp concepts for the first time and watching their confidence in themselves grow is something very special. This year in my first classroom is no exception. I have a special group of fourth-graders that I look forward to working with every day. Townshend Elementary School is a warm and welcoming community that I have been fortunate to start my teaching career in.

Susan Shuck, Special Educator (sshuck@windhamcentral.org)

Kelsey Taddei, Academic Support Teacher (ktaddei@windhamcentral.org)

I grew up in central Massachusetts. I graduated from Assumption College in 2013, earning my masters in special education. This is my 8th year of teaching. I work with classroom teachers and the administration to plan and provide literacy and math intervention and remediation to students.

Abbey Welch, Nurse (awelch@windhamcentral.org)

I began working for WCSU 3 years ago. I now work at Townshend and Jamaica Village School. I have been a pediatric nurse for almost 13 years. I always knew that I wanted to be a nurse and specialize in pediatrics. I love what I do! I grew up in Vermont, I am married and have a 10 year old son. We love sports, being outdoors and weekend adventures.

Carla West, Physical Education Teacher (cwest@windhamcentral.org)

I am the P.E. teacher for the whole WCSU. Since I was 8, I knew that movement made me feel great! I also knew I liked working with elementary age children. I started out in Early Education and switched to Physical Education. I have a B.S. in Health Sciences with a licensure to teach P.E. I feel like I have the greatest job, because most children in elementary school love to move their bodies and enjoy P.E. class!!